Joomla. Few words on it

Once super assed, today almost shitty shit.

Joomla

I typically dont write things about shitty shit, but this time I feel I have to. Just to warn potential contributors.

History

Short: there was Mambo. Extremely NICE piece of REALLY GOOD software! Unfortunately it came to the point of near extintion. Than Brian Teeman started Joomla Project as direct ancestor of Mambo. And that was the point where project starting spiraling crashing down.

What went wrong?

Short answer: Brian's ego as (self-proclaimed) project leader.

There is more wrong with Joomla than there is right.

I will not write solutions to problems here as they ( current joomla team ) may have account(s) here, and I will not make their life easier by giving solutions away. Letthem think, or, in case they dont know how-to, either:

  • leave team (and joomla as a whole thing), giving org owner rights to someone else with clear, well laid-out, SRD,

  • make joomla abandonware.

Main problem is that Joomla is broken on so many levels, that it'd be easier to do full rewrite than to fix these issues, not because of their complexity, but because of how many of them there is in codebase.

Joomla has problems recruiting volunteers

Source

Please see this comment on GitHub to know the source ( language warning! ). Its from former maintainer who, the same way as myself, got frustrated, and let his frustration(s) be known.

My comments

I agree with everything thats been written by Nicholas in the linked comment. The way Brian acts as a PL (project leader), while really not being one is doing so many things to Joomla. He is:

  • putting off volunteers from becoming contributors,

  • making existing volunteers/contributors leave by ridiculing them. If this does not make them leave, he blocks them at organizational level. He also has a habit of blocking people just for criticizing Joomla ( thats against their own Code of Conduct ),

  • making many stupid, pointless decisions that makes project's quality deteriorate. Rapidly.

  • making project reputation worsen; almost to the point of no existance.

That are just my thoughts. Harsh, but what can I do? Well, I know I can fork, ask GitHub Support to detach fork, and work on Joomla as a standalone project, but, to be honest, I dont think thats what I really want.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Wojtek X by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!