Moodle: my journey

Moodle: my journey

That ended badly

Hell, another entry that I vent my frustration in. Yes, FOSS shitware (as I call it), makes me extremely sick.

Another shitware representative that I dedicate this entry to is moodle. Its ( or desperately tries to be ) LMS.

Dont get me wrong: Martin ( founder & ceo ) had brilliant idea: to let every person on this planet make use of education. I fully support this idea; I personally think that education is crucial.

But, Martin, as every ceo of any shitware project, screw it all up. Big time.

Offering

When you go to moodle website ( which is correct website btw: ending in org or in com? Take a wild guess stranger ) you are presented with 2 options:

  • selfhost ( standard download ) :: free for real,
  • use cloud ( called moodlecloud ) :: was free, now pay hefty price to use.

My rant

Both of above options are seriously flawed.

  • selfhost: webinstaller is so shitty that either doesnt work, spits out blankpage, or, this one is good, creates wrong tables in db. Not to mention that their official manual is just another crappy thing: following it wfw will result in broken installation, or, whats more likely, not functioning server. But, they give a shit about it.
  • moodlecloud: was once free, they cancelled free-forever offering out of greed ( pandemic start = end of free-forever tier ). They lie about it left and right. More? Tons of ads, "site registration" without option to disable it, and done without user/admin knowlege and consent. BTW where is this catalogue you are forced to register in, what its used for ( as I dont believe that they dont use our data from it ), who governs this catalogue, etc. So many questions; so little do we know. Transparency anyone?

Another thing is price of moodlecloud. Over $100 /yearly for something that is way too high/hefty. There are some countries in the world that:

  • would like their citizens to be educated,
  • GDP is so low, that even $100 yearly is way too much.

As usual, moodle team gives a fuck about it.

User experience, bugs, etc

UX

UX in moodle 4* branch was ( according to their website ) greatly improved. I personally see no improvement, just opposite in fact, UX went down to the point of not existence even. Its nightmare.

Bugs

BLB

Business logic is flawed in so many places that there are more things done wrong than there is done right. Everything. From admin index, through course creation/editing, user management, comments, to overall sizing/placement of sections.....

My rant

Martin (and the rest of team) fucked this aspect as well. Ofc they cannot justify their decisions.

Team "friendliness"

Another aspect is team behaviour once they are criticized. They give out some shitty, out of context answer/s and, eventually, they ban user saying that user is rude, not behaving in adherence to their shitty CoC/ToS or something.

Friendliness at its best.

Oh, I almost forgot. During some discussion on their forum I was asked how would I change moodle. I replied that I would do complete rewrite. Guess what the answer was. That "there were many people before me that suggested this and they still havent seen any code from these people".

Guess why there is no code comming from these people? Two reasons:

  • people will not devote their free time to write code unless given guarantee that their code will be merged into stable; pretty obvious; Im seriously suprised teammoodle ignores it.
  • people arent stupid: they clearly see whats going on, and they share my point of view ( although they are not as vocal as Im about it ).

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Wojtek X by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!